Newtown Action Alliance leads Shame on Congress Initiative

For Immediate Release
May 29, 2013

Media Contact: Debbi Morello: 203-295-5265

Newtown Action Alliance leads Shame on Congress initiative to keep pressure on legislators for smarter, safer gun laws

NEWTOWN, Conn.  – The Newtown Action Alliance is leading a non-partisan initiative called Shame on Congress to restore democracy in Washington and to change the way things get done.

Shame on Congress ( unites the broad center of Americans supporting commonsense gun regulations such as universal background checks and provides opportunities for their voices to be heard by elected officials.

The Shame on Congress coalition already represents more than 6.5 million voters who support gun safety regulations at the federal level and is growing rapidly. The goal is to reach 10 million.

To date, nearly 40 gun safety organizations have joined the Shame on Congress coalition, including the Brady Campaign to Prevent Gun Violence; the Coalition to Stop Gun Violence; Gun Owners for Gun Laws; and the Enough Campaign.

Shame on Congress calls out the 45 U.S. senators who voted against the Manchin-Toomey Public Safety and Second Amendment Rights Protection Act that legislated for expanded background checks for firearms purchases.

It will target lawmakers one by one on a weekly basis by inducting them into the Congressional Hall of Shame for as long as they choose gun industry profits over public safety.

“The 45 senators who voted against the Manchin-Toomey bill have shown how out of touch they are with the majority of their constituents,” said Dave Ackert, founder of the Newtown Action Alliance. “Instead, they have chosen to represent and protect the gun industry.”

“The goal is to provide a unified platform where the broad middle, who supports sensible gun laws, can demonstrate a determination and scale that will dwarf the influence of the gun lobby; special interest groups that for far too long many lawmakers have feared,” added Ackert.

As each of the 45 senators are shamed for their no vote, senators who voted in favor of the Manchin-Toomey gun bill will be honored in the Congressional Hall of Fame.

“We stand proudly in support of these senators,” said Ackert. “They will be inducted into the Congressional Hall of Fame for representing the will of their constituents instead of the gun lobby.”

The Shame on Congress web site ( provides links to Hall of Shame and Hall of Fame senators with easy-access contact links for each of them.

“Call them, send them an e-mail, contact them through Facebook and Twitter,” said Ackert. “Thank those senators who did not give in to the gun lobby and shame those who did.”

Groups and individuals can join the ‘Shame on Congress’ coalition at

The Newtown Action Alliance is a Newtown Connecticut-based grassroots 501(c)(4) advocacy organization working as a catalyst for smarter, safer gun laws and broader cultural change to reduce gun violence. Find out more at